Powered by Max Banner Ads
As I was putting our new State-By State Bicycle Law tool, I came across some interesting bike laws:
Arizona:Every owner of a bicycle, before the same shall be operated on any of the streets, alleys or public highways in the City, shall obtain a license from the Division of Licenses.
Hey Jeff! Got licenses on those steeds of yours?????
Delaware and Florida: No bicycle shall carry more persons than it was designed to carry, except an adult rider may carry a child securely attached in a back pack or sling.
Hey Ghost, make sure to keep him away from your munchies… and don’t forget to put his helmet on!!
Georgia:(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to sell a new bicycle or a pedal for use on a bicycle unless the pedals on such bicycle or such pedals are equipped with reflectors of a type approved by the Department of Public Safety. The reflector on each pedal shall be so designed and situated as to be visible from the front and rear of the bicycle during darkness from a distance of 200 feet. The commissioner of public safety is authorized to promulgate rules and regulations and establish standards for such reflectors.
For those of you that sell Crank Bros, Shimano and Look pedals… Beware of the pedal police!
Indiana: 9-21-11-8. Bicycle to be equipped with bell or similar device.–A person may not ride a bicycle unless the bicycle is equipped with a bell or other device capable of giving a signal audible for a distance of at least one hundred (100) feet.
Most states allow bicycles on the sidewalk, however, you lose your privileges as a vehicle and you must act as a pedestrian. A lot of states also require for minors of the age of 16 or 17 to wear a helmet, fines from $25-$100 are common.
The irony of all these laws is that they are rarely enforced. How many times have you seen kids riding with no helmets? Riders with no lights? and riders with more than 2 people on a bike?
So this begs the question, how many of you have ever gotten a citation on a bike?