Today is the first day that Californians MUST use a hands free device if we want to talk while driving. This is good news for us bike commuters that frequently encounter drivers driving like drunks because they are chatting on their cellphone. But the question is, would this law also affect bike riders that are using a cellphone while riding in traffic? My assumption would be yes since bicycles are also bound by vehicular laws in California, but I will find out for sure.
In case you are wondering how much you need to fork out in case you get caught:
The base fine for the FIRST offense is $20 and $50 for subsequent convictions. With the addition of penalty assessments, the fines can be more than triple the base fine amount.
By the way, this law also affects people visiting California, so if you are coming down to visit Mickey Mouse, better bring your hand free device!